Gay Wedding Announcements

gay-wedding-cakae.jpg

After reading this article on QueerSighted, I thought I’d share with you.
Article: They Are Adorable: A Gay Wedding and The New York Times

First, a clip from Sex and the City that is on the link, but encase you don’t click the article:

But what struck me is the prevalence of gay and lesbian wedding/union announcements. I mean I see them on the Times website, but the Times is coming from uber-liberal New York, so it is to be expected. But recently I have seen announcements in the papers sitting on my table. The Bucks County Courier Times (although it may have been an article not exactly an announcement) and the Philadelphia Inquirer. So I looked up just how common they are and what started the trend. I was unsurprised to find out GLAAD was largely behind the push for newspapers to publish inclusive announcements. The campaign GLAAD ran to encourage newspapers to adopt inclusive policies was called Announcing Equality and here is the website.

As of January, GLAAD reported that 883 newspapers—nearly 60 percent of all daily newspapers in the United States—now accept wedding and/or commitment ceremony announcements for gay and lesbian couples. That number has increased nearly 584 percent since it was first measured in 2002.

Among the Announcing Equality campaign’s other successes:

  • All of the nation’s top 50 media markets and 99 of the top 100 are home to at least one newspaper with an inclusive announcement policy.
  • An estimated 75 percent of all U.S. newspaper readers read a paper that accepts wedding announcements from same-sex couples.
  • All 50 states and the District of Columbia have newspapers that print same-sex union announcements. (In 2004, Mississippi was the lone holdout.)
  • 319 U.S. daily newspapers have printed at least one same-sex union announcement.

I think thats great. I personally don’t know if I would make an announcement, in fact I probably wouldn’t. But I know I would have liked to have seen them when I was growing up.

Leave a Reply

