When Gays Marry Kids Get Dumb

Blue Jersey is airing some pro gay marriage ads over the next two weeks. They are not very in your face or controversial. They are simple civil unions are not the same as marriage arguments. They are cute. Hopefully they will be effective. But as many of you know gay marriage is not one of my top political priorities so I will not get on my high horse right now. (Keep in mind, I do believe gays should be able to get married. If they want that headache, they should be entitled to it).

What this post is about is effective political advertising. I came across this ad a while ago, but was unable to find a working link to it when I last looked for it. Today when I was watching the Blue Jersey ads, this came up on the youtube side bar. I think this anti-gay marriage ad is troubling because it exploits children. I find it disturbing because I found the children cute, even though they were spewing discrimination (albeit taught to them by some adult).  But what it really makes you question are where are their parents.  In a twisted way I could understand teaching your children hate, if you thought it would save them or it was part of your religious beliefs.  Because it is a parent’s job to do what is best for their children, if a parent honestly believed in the dangers of being gay they should talk to their kids about it.  But to have your child on national television clearly stating your views like political puppets, without regard to how it might affect them in the future.

2 Responses to When Gays Marry Kids Get Dumb

  1. Alex says:

    I like the headline.

  2. Christina says:

    1. Headache??
    2. Parents are dangerous. Hopefully, those kids will grow up and realize being a hater is uncool.

Leave a Reply

