New Law School Rankings

Breaking News: According to a new law school ranking system, Temple University Beasley School of Law just surpassed University of Pennsylvania and Harvard.

teple.jpg

(source: a survey of Nicole and Christina and careful examination of the selectivity of the admissions process)

So my friend, lets call him “Alex”, got into law school. Super early and with a scholarship, so basically they really really want him. They get a ton of applications (Admission for the Fall 2007 entering class was highly competitive, with 4,856 applicants for an entering class of 314.)

It is a double edged sword though. I am happy for him achieving his goal, and of course getting into such a fantastic school (I also go to Temple). But at the same time it is the end of his soul and now the endless slew of lawyer jokes begin. Unfortunately I don’t know any good lawyer jokes so here are a few cheesy ones from the internet.

Q. What do you call 5000 dead lawyers at the bottom of the ocean?
A. A good start!

Q. How can you tell when a lawyer is lying?
A. His lips are moving.

Q. Why won’t sharks attack lawyers?
A. Professional courtesy.

Q. Why is it that many lawyers have broken noses?
A. From chasing parked ambulances.

Q. What’s the difference between a lawyer and a vampire?
A. A vampire only sucks blood at night.

3 Responses to New Law School Rankings

  1. Christina says:

    Temple is the best school in the whole country. At least it’s grad school is.

  2. Alex says:

    I can’t wait for the years and years of bad lawyer jokes (and the occasional good lawyer joke).

  3. Taken From: tellinthatruth.blogspot.com…

    This is the same school that made their own rankings which put them in the top 20 law schools!

    Are You Kidding Me…And They Call Themselves A Law School????

    Tellin’ Tha Truth received this email from one of our readers today, and with the exception of removing her name we’ve decided to publish her email as is because, well, we’re speechless….

    PLEASE READ THIS YOUNG LADY’S HORRIFIC STORY BELOW!!!

    I was a law student at Thomas M. Cooley Law School, and currently have four complaints against the school, two with the Michigan Department of Civil Rights, one with the U.S. Department of Education Office of Civil Rights, and one with the Department of Education Student Financial Aid Ombudsman Office. All of the complaints are in the investigation stage. My dispute began back in July 2007 because a Caucasian Professor that I did not know announced my arrival by saying, “There’s a Black girl out there waiting for you.”

    As you know, Although crass and insensitive the comment in and of itself is not actionable. However, the retaliation that I have encountered because I brought the incident to the attention of school administrators, and the government is. Both the timeline below and the attached documents show just how far this ‘law school’ will go to cover up its’ racism. Lastly, I am not the only one that has experienced this, just check PACER there are over 25 different lawsuits against the school. Most of the lawsuits deal with discrimination and retaliation. They have done this to hundreds of other innocent students who attend their school with the sole purpose and goal of obtaining a law degree!

    I am sending this email because my hope is with your help I can not only save my dream of being a lawyer but also save the dreams of my fellow minority classmates that have fell victim to this law school’s disparate treatment. Due to my having absolutely no income, I have contacted all of my lenders and informed them of what is going on in an effort to halt their collection actions. The school reported to the National Clearinghouse that I graduated 9/12/07 in an effort to halt my financial aid and my education. Unfortunately, my creditors and lenders have been neither understanding or sympathetic to my current financial situation. I receive at a minimum of 10 calls per day from creditors that I have sent numerous emails to about this situation. Creditors who up until this past April I had stellar accounts with, and at this point I have no idea where to turn or what else to do.

    In response to my complaints I received a letter from the school that contained four separate threats of legal action against me if I did not dismiss my complaints and immediately stop the civil rights agencies investigations. The letter is blatantly illegal because their reason for bringing suit against me is my going to the various civil rights agencies with my allegations and evidence instead of allowing them to bully me into silence. As you know retaliatory acts against someone because they engaged in a protected activity is ILLEGAL!!!

    My documentation clearly and unequivocally shows, through the school’s own written response, their intent to discriminate against me, that they lied in their written responses to both the MDCR and my former attorney, and they voluntarily committed fraud against the Department of Education by falsely reporting and refusing to change incorrect students’ status.

    This situation has caused me immense financial and emotional stress. I have documentation of everything I mentioned above, and my hope is that there is some way you can assist me during this extremely difficult time.

    TIMELINE OF EVENTS

    September 2006: Entered Cooley Law School with an honors scholarship because of LSAT score and UGPA.

    June 2007: Handed in grade appeals to exams coordinator, under the advise of my Academic Advisor. Was told if there was an issue with my appeals she would contact me.

    July 10, 2007: Inciting incident occurred. Caucasian Professor that I did not know announced my arrival at a meeting by saying, “There’s a Black girl out there waiting for you!”

    July 12, 2007: Brought the incident to the attention of the Dean of Professionalism who immediately contacted the Associate Dean of Faculty.

    July 12, 2007: Met with the Associate Dean of Faculty who apologized on behalf of the faculty and administration, shared his own story of racism, and requested a meeting the following week.

    July 17, 2007: Met with the President of the school and told him of the incident. He apologized and instructed me to contact the Associate Dean of Faculty. He also instructed me to hand in my grade appeals again because there was an appeal process to the grade appeals process.

    July 17, 2007: Met with the Associate Dean of Faculty, who informed me that he spoke to the Professor who he has been friends with for 11 years and he ‘vehemently denied’ saying ‘There’s a Black girl out there waiting for you!” and he believed him. Also informed me that if I attempted to file an official complaint with the school regarding the incident he would take his findings before the board and tell them he had no reason to believe it happened. And the complaint would ultimately end up back in his hands. Finally, he threw out my grade appeals even after I told him the President told me to hand them in. He gave no reason for throwing them out. Appeals that would have removed me from Academic Probation. In their response to civil rights they lied and said that I never handed in any appeals….despite my having emails between the Associate Dean of Faculty and my academic advisor that show otherwise!

    August 17, 2007: Emailed Dean and informed him that I would be leaving the school. I told him this would be the best situation for us both. My reason was the retaliation that I suffered from the school. Ironically the same day that someone from Cooley Law School first reported to Wachovia that I withdrew……..17 days before I actually withdrew, 1 day after my last exam, nearly four weeks before my professors submitted my grades, and over a month before my first grade was posted to the portal!

    August 28, 2007: Met with the Dean of Professionalism to inform her I wanted to leave. She apologized for everything and acknowledged the pain and suffering I went through due to this situation. She then granted me permission to attend another law school as a visiting student although it was against school rules. However my situation was exceptional.

    September 4, 2007: Withdrew from school took a term off withdrawal stating my intent to return January 2008. Dean of Professionalism sent letter to both myself and new school stating permission for me to attend.

    September 12, 2007: Cooley contacted the NSLDS, my lenders, and the Clearinghouse and informed them I graduated. However in letter dated 2/18/08 they state that I was Academically Dismissed. In addition he wrote that I was Academically Dismissed 9/12/07 in their response to Civil Rights. However, I was dismissed more than 20 days before receiving notice, 18 days before the registrar received my grades, and 12 days before grades had been submitted by my professors and posted on the student portal.

    10/1/07: Actual date of dismissal. Letter sent by the Dean that actually handles dismissals, not the Associate Dean of Faculty. Term off withdrawal sheet marked A.D. 10/1/07….for Academic Dismissal because Registrar’s office received final grades. Again more than 18 days after I had been reported as graduated and dismissed.

    10/2/07: Grade report printed with Academic Probation stamped on grade report because I was eligible for Academic Probation, and could have voided a grade if the grades released were my actual grades…..(another issue in the dispute….alleged grade tampering by Dean to fit 9/12/07 dismissal date reported by someone in the school more than 20 days before the registrar’s office, the financial aid office, the Associate Dean of Students who handles Academic Dismissals, and the student.)

    11/14/07: Met with Associate Dean of Faculty who said I was Academically Dismissed and refused to provide a copy of my finals.

    1/21/08: Grades released by MSU College of Law. Although not honor roll, shows that I am a capable law student. Grades that under the circumstances that I have been in are good and shows I do not lack the requisite capability needed to succeed in law school.

    1/30/08: Informed by Wachovia that it had been reported by Thomas M. Cooley Law School that I had graduated. Former Attorney wrote letter to General Counsel who responded by saying that he was checking into the issue.

    2/18/08: Cooley Law School through its’ agent sent a letter which contained 4 threats of legal retaliation because I filed complaints with civil rights agencies, a protected activity, and said that if I did not immediately dismiss the complaints and halt the pending investigation they would sue me. Page 3 of the letter stated that both my former attorney and myself made up the statement that the lenders and NSLDS were reporting I graduated. Page 4 second paragraph stating it was reported I was not enrolled because I was Academically Dismissed 9/12/07….again despite grades not yet having been submitted by the professors or posted by the Registrars office. The dismissal was reported over 20 days before anyone else in the school or I was given notice.

    4/4/08: Student Aid summary pulled from NSLDS.ED.GOV: Still listed as having graduated……date 12/19/07 because MSU College of Law provided verification of my full time enrollment.

Leave a Reply

