My 2008 Reading List

12 Books for 12 Months

book-club-book-worm.jpg

“Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley

“The Great Gatsby” by F Scott Fitzgerald

“The Sound and the Fury” by William Faulkner

“The Brothers Karamazov” by Dostoevsky

“Beloved” by Toni Morrison

“Rabbit, Run” by John Updike

“Persuasion” by Jane Austen

“Manchild in the Promised Land” by Claude Brown

“The City and the Pillar” by Gore Vidal

“Tropic of Cancer” by Henry Miller

“Middlesex” by Jeffrey Eugenides

“White Noise” by Don Delillo

3 Responses to My 2008 Reading List

  1. “Middlesex” was absolutely incredible. I still recommend it to friends all the time.

    I’m impressed when anyone reads “The Sound and the Fury” on their own. I read it for AP Literature in high school and my wonderful teacher (thanks Ms. Huey) did a great job of teaching us Faulkner as an art form. I’m still a loyal Faulkner reader thanks to her translation training.

    Good luck on your reading project!

  2. Cliff Burns says:

    Good reading list–not a dud on there. We should always read books that stretch our minds, rather than compress them into little balls of inanimate fat. I love it when an author kicks my ass intellectually–I’m reading L.F. Celine and, believe me, I’ve got a boot mark on the seat of my pants as I sit here typing this…

  3. theundergrad says:

    brave new world is really great and beloved is just a masterpiece.
    middlesex, i have to say, is a book i read just for the hell of it because it got so much noise, but its one of the most memorable books you will ever read. maybe because its just that disturbing. enjoy.

Leave a Reply

